$25 bucks equals a groovy closet!

I love the closets in my bedrooms.  They’re not walk-ins, but they’re large enough for me to duck into and grab things from the far corners.  But I’ve had a huge “making do” drawer thingy from IKEA gakking up prime real estate in my bedroom; fine enough for awhile, but I’ve been jonesing to pretty things up for over a year now.  Plus, it blocks the gorgeous view of the closet shelf thang that my friend put up for me.  And we can’t block the pretty now, can we?  No, we can’t.

So, after obsessing for months doing my due diligence in the ol’ research department, I finally chose a few add-ons to the closet brand I’d started with.  This brand lets you hang stuff up on their track system, but since nothing really fit just-so in the spaces that way, I decided to go with floor models.  And I’m not too bummed.  In fact, I’m kinda digging the outcome.

Not to shabby for shelling out $25, right?  Actually it’s more like $22, since one piece was about ten bucks and the other was about 12.  Okay, so it’d be $34 if I count the three-stack piece I’ve had for awhile now (and had been using…well, to stash crap in the closet.)  The acid-trip baskets are from my scrounging around Target during their Missoni blowout.  I do love acid trips!  To look at, not to be on.  I’m guessing.  Let’s just say an actual acid trip is something I’m not dying to try out.  Blergh.  Give me Pink Floyd and Steppenwolf straight up, thank you.

Ahh.  I feel so much better with a sorted closet.  I can see my stuff!  The socks and dedicates are in my dresser, the sweaters and jeans are with the rest of my “heading out into the world” clothes, and I ended up spending at least a third of what I’d figured it would cost if I went with other items.  Huzzah!

On a side note, my hangers face in two different directions.  That’s because I’m testing myself; about a month ago I hung everything the “wrong” way (hanger hook opening out front instead of out to the back).  If I wear the item, it gets reversed to it’s just and right position.  At the end of this year… it’s hardcore Osoji, bitches!  Word, I’ll be rockin’ it old-school, cleaning out all the old — in this case all the stuff that has a hanger facing the wrong direction — and booting it out the door.  Yeah, I am feeling a bit unsettled about what could be The Great Pitchout, but I’ll be a big girl.  Probably.  Big girls cry, yes?

What have I learned, now that I can see what’s going on in there?

* I have a shitton of grey stuff.

* I have the fashion sense of a 5-year-old, with the sparkles, fringe, metallics and patterns.

* I buy stuff based on my knee-jerk reaction just like I do for the house, instead of trying to figure out if pieces go with what I’ve already got.

* Considering what I’ve got hanging on the door, I’m apparently in a Stripes Period.

The only one who doesn’t love the new closet?  Miss Z.  She’s not even happy about the pink jingleball that I rolled out to entice her to love the new.  Z loved being able to crawl into the pile o’ baskets & bags at the bottom of my closet.  No longer, Miss.  Sorry.

She’s not speaking to me at the moment.  She’ll come around.  Right?

Leave a Reply

