Sunday Shot: Small Business Saturday

I used to love Black Friday. No longer. It’s crowded, and the deals aren’t very good (read: you can get the same bargains later in the season). Oh, I still head to the mall; nothing like watching the huddled masses yearning to save a buck. But I don’t really shop. This year? I grabbed a few things from BB&B, where everything was 20% off, no coupon required. The usual with-coupon deal, so I snagged an old- timey straw dispenser. Me likey.

But I really likey Small Business Saturday. The day after Black Friday, when folks are asked to shop local. There was a nice little goings-on here in Pigtown.

image
Really cute, right?

I also wandered over to the American Visionary Arts Museum for BAZAART, their yearly local crafters thang. But I spent my hard-earned in my hood.

A rep from the mayor’s office came by to read a proclamation – “today is Small Business Saturday in Pigtown!”, etc. – which was very nice. There was press & most importantly, the Pigtown Pig. Yay pig!

image
Santa Pig!

Even with the cold wind, it was a nice day. My local booty? Homemade lavender salt scrub from Revamp Variety (a groovy new shop on Washington Blvd), and hamentashen + a gingerbread man from Tasty Creations Bakery (my favorite place in Pigtown).

What else to do after that, but pour a glass of vino, run the jacuzzi & enjoy my purchases?

image
Aaaaaaah.

Oh, and did I mention that the hamentashen was still warm from the oven? Yeah baby!

Small Business Saturday, you’re my favorite.

Leave a Reply

