Failing At Kitchen: cheaters Hoppin John

Happy New Year! It’s 2013, Year of the Snake y’all! And I may be a little based, as I’m a Snake baby. But hey, new year!

And since I’m a sucker for tradition, I decided to make that New Year favorite, Hoppin John. Why hoppin? Dunno. Maybe because the black eyed peas hop in the pan when they’re cooking on high heat? Who cares; it’s just an excuse to eat beans & rice. Nom.

I bought a can of cooked peas & gave ’em a good rinse. That gets the glue-y sludge off the peas, and probably lightens the sodium load.
image

Next, I put chopped up onions and carrots into the frypan (I really need to get a new non-stick, but that’s another day). Got ’em all sizzly like.

image

Then I added the peas, plus a little bit of pork seasoning (aka a packet of Jamon seasoning from Goya). Stirstirstir.

image

Black pepper, crushed red pepper, more stir. Meanwhile, rice is percolating in the cooker.

Finally, dump peas onto rice and…. Stirstirstir. Then eat!
image

Happy New Year y’all!

Leave a Reply

