Garden-ness: black swallowtail caterpillar!

I haz friend! I popped out to the deck this morning (more like “wobbled out and managed to not trip over anything) and I saw this:

image

Isn’t he/she adorable? At first I thought the caterpillar was a Monarch, but I soon found out that in fact it’s a Black Swallowtail. Either way, ain’t this just a cute little thing?

No sign of a mantis this year, though my neighbor has two in her flowers. And yes, I’m incredibly jealous.

But hi there caterpillar! Bye-bye, parsley.

Leave a Reply

