This Year’s Resolutions

image

Okay, I thought and thought…then I cribbed a list from an email from RA Sushi (another resolution – hit their Happy Hour.) I tweaked their list a bit by adding my own spin on the descriptions, and I’ve added one that’s all me. Because I’m like that. And that’s the way it is.

This year, I plan to:

1. Get healthy – which means hitting the gym every day, Monday-Friday. I used to do that. I need to do it again.
2. Spend time with family and friends – moving away from the DC area has definitely taken a toll on how often I see the people I care about. And I miss ’em. Simply thinking about them every day – which I do – doesn’t cut it. I need to see them – see them. Yes.
3. Enjoy life  – more relaxing, reading and generally nerdy stuff, less running around for no purpose. Make it so.
4. Get out of debt – take that, you horrible 2013! Thought you’d pushed me to the breaking point? I say Hah!
5. Learn something new – more Gem Cutters Guild classes. This year? Forging! Silversmithing! Cold connections! Soldering! Precious Metal Clay! At least two of these things WILL BE DONE. And let’s not forget glass blowing; the local glass studio has one-night classes. Sounds groovy.
6. Go on a vacation – planning trips should help me keep focused on what’s important, my-budget-wise. I’m heading down to FL for a wedding later this year (Halloween, because awesome). I think I’ll tie in a trip to St. Simons Island, one of my absolute favorite places. Which means… ROAD TRIP Y’ALL! And let’s not forget day trips: Calvert Cliffs, Mount Vernon, Pennsylvania Amish Country (Intercourse, PA must be visited) and of course RenFest are all on my to-do list.
7. Help others – get back into a regular routine at BARCS. And maybe do more in my neighborhood. I’ve been wanting help with the community garden….
8. Get organized – this may be the most difficult, as I’m a slob right now. But that’s because I can’t seem to figure out how to do my preferred “a place for everything & everything in it’s place” thingy. All in good time, my pretties.
9. Write more. Write better – at least three times a week, for posting. (I’d say daily, but who am I kidding?) I’d like to pick a schedule, like M-W-F or T-Th-Su, but for now? Baby steps. First big idea? Updates on my progress with this list!

That’s it. It’s a lot, but hopefully doable.

Happy Wooden Horse Year!

One thought on “This Year’s Resolutions

  1. My thoughts on the struggle with home organization and neatness–find your weakness (mine is paper) and devote your energy to that. (Even though you won’t want to.)

Leave a Reply

