Failing at Kitchen: tweaked oatmeal cookies

NOT twerked. Had to get that out there. But hey, do you.

I ran out of butter (okay, margarine) the day of the Superbowl. As I was trying to come up with a cookie idea, that was a bummer. Then I figured – the Internet! It knows everything!

One search on “oatmeal cookie recipe no oil”, and I found one I liked. Problem? Of course, this is me, remember? I noticed, as I was half through the recipe, that the author mentions applesauce in her notes at the bottom of the page. But it’s not a listed ingredient. Nor was it in the instructions. Also, no sign of vanilla, or any leavening. *da DUM*

So I did what I always do. I decided to wing it. I slopped in more oil – I say slopped because that’s exactly what happens when you try to pour “a little” oil with one hand while running a hand mixer in the other – added baking powder, pecans and cranberries. Phew!

They actually turned out okay. Surprisingly.

image

Yeah, they’re not supermodels, but they could have been worse. The pic actually doesn’t do these little lumps justice. And that’s thanks to a friend cluing me into the best thing ever: a cookie dough scoop. It’s awesome! And all these years I thought drop cookies were a hassle because they all ended up like Return Of The Blob.

Anyway, here’s my fudged recipe. I may make em again. Oatmeal! Healthy!

My Tweaked Oatmeal Cookies 

1 & 1/4 cup flour (I used half “regular” & half whole wheat)
1/2 Tsp cinnamon
1/8 Tsp nutmeg
 1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp sugar (or just a heaping quarter cup)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 Tsp baking powder
3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp rolled oats (or just a scant cup)
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup milk (I added 2 more Tbsp, after it didn’t bind at the start.)
 2 egg yolk or 1 egg (I used an egg white)
1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp canola oil (I used 1/2 – added another 1/4 cup because they didn’t bind at first. It slopped in because who measures? Oops. But you can start with the recipe levels & add more)
1 Tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 325˚F (I baked at 350. Oops.)
2. In a bowl combine flours, spices, sugars, powder, and oats. Stir in pecans & cranberries.
3. In a separate bowl mix together milk, egg yolks, and oil. Stir in flour mixture. 
4. Spoon tablespoons of dough on to a parchment or silpat lined cookie sheet (I just greased the sheet, and used a cookie dough scoop. Win!)
5. Bake for 14 minutes, or until golden brown (I baked for 11 minutes, at 350.)

Leave a Reply

