Failing at Kitchen: Earthquake Cake

I like messy stuff.  I like messy food.  I’m basically a pig with opposable thumbs.

So when I saw the recipe for Earthquake Cake over at The First Year, I knew I had to make the attempt.  The attempt at duplicating this delicious looking cake.  And gotta admit it wasn’t too difficult.  Even for my bakery-challenged self.

For folks like me who understand how hyperlinks work but are too lazy to use them (go us!), here’s the recipe, along with my modifications [they’ll be in red, because festive]:

1 box German Chocolate Cake Mix (PREPARE WITH OIL, EGG AND WATER AMOUNTS LISTED HERE) [I used regular-ol’ chocolate cake mix.]
1/3 cup oil
3 eggs [I used 2 whole eggs, and one egg white.]
1 and 1/3 cup water
2/3 cup shredded coconut
2/3 cup chocolate chips [I used a full cup.  Because chocolate.]
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup butter [I used margarine.  A “butter-like” type.]
8 oz cream cheese [I used light cream cheese.  I don’t think fat free would cut it, but I may try next go-round.]
[Dash of vanilla]
1 pound powdered sugar (3 and 3/4 cups)

Here’s the play-by-play:Step 1: get your ingredients together.

Step 2: Heat the oven to 350.

Step 3: Spray/wipe down the 13×9″ pan with veggie oil (this is not the time to go exotic, or hit up the ol’ EVOO.  That’ll leave a not-so-cool aftertaste.  Unless you want olive oil cake.  Then do you.)

Step 4: layer coconut, pecans & chips in the pan.  Yes.  Trust me.

earthquake cake 1
Layer all the things. Well, not all of them.

Step 5: make the cake batter. Pour the cake batter onto the layered stuff in the pan.

earthquake cake 2
What are you hiding…oh yeah. Yumminess.

Step 6: mix together butter, vanilla & cream cheese. Add sugar slowly, unless you want to be covered in sweet dust. Zig-zag pour cheese goodness on top of cake. Swirl around.

earthquake cake 3
Know what’s a good stir-er? A chopstick. You’re welcome.

Step 7: pop that bad boy into the oven. The recipe says cook for 35-45 minutes…but I cooked ’til 55 because BBQ potluck + “gooey” (uncooked) cake = stomach grumpies for all involved. The cake was still amazingly moist though!

earthquake cake 4
And I love the crumbly broken-cheese-swirl bits. Character!

Step 8: devour.

I think ice cream and/or whipped cream would go well with this cake, but I typically don’t do that sort of thing because I’m broken. Slice strawberries go well too, and I’m betting other types of sliced fruit would also do the trick. Except watermelon. Too liquid.

So, I did this. Ergo, anyone can. Go make it…and then take it somewhere and share it. Otherwise you’ll end up in a dark room with the pan, a fork, and a Gollum-like crouch as you snorf down the whole thing. If my friends weren’t around me, I totally would have done this.  It really is good cake.

Leave a Reply

